Tags

, , , , , , ,


My wee swatch is done! I’m so happy with the polished look of the cabled yarn; I also don’t like the look of 2-ply yarns a lot of the time, as i find that one side of the stitch will deconstruct so the yarn looks unplied, while the other overtwists and looks completely different.nits just not an effect I like, so I tend to avoid 2ply yarns. The 2×2 cable seems to have successfully overcome this shortcoming.

I’ve knit with handspun cables before but that was before I knew not to overspin my singles, and the yarn turned out heavy, dense, and actually quite difficult to knit with. Plus, the cable structure kind of split in the knitted stitches before, giving the fabric a rough, unfinished look that I didn’t like. This time, though, I’m loving the result, and the additional mixing of the different fibres and colours in the batts that comes from the cabling process has really made this an impressive yarn.

20120225-090142.jpg

Of course, my 4g sample turned out to be not enough, so I didn’t get the full 32 rows that the pattern gauge calls for; instead I only got 26 rows, which gives me 8cm in length. Now, let’s see…3.2 rows per centimetre, means my 26 rows should be…8.32cm, which is almost perfect!!!

The complication comes in the stitch gauge. The required gauge is 23 stitches per 10cm, and I’ve got 23 stitches giving me only 8cm. This won’t be a massive problem for the band, as I can just add stitches to my cast on and all will be ok (at that scale, I’ll need to add 6 stitches per 23 cast on, or 20%). When I come to picking the stitches up along the band to build the hat upwards, though, we could strike some difficulties challenges.

I am really looking forward to knitting this hat, though, so best I get spinning and make it happen, eh? Wish me luck!

