Tags

, , , , ,


So, my dear readers, I have a conundrum today. A while back, I ordered a bulk lot of yarn from an indie dyer, who was thoroughly helpful and lovely throughout my dealings with her. The yarn was duly dyed and she put up a listing on Etsy for me. There wasn’t a photo, but I looked through her feedback and similar listings have super-positive feedback, detailing good dyeing and as-requested colours. So I didn’t push the issue, had faith n her, and dropped the $100 plus on the yarn.

It arrived, and it looks nothing like the colour I thought I was ordering. This photo, taken from her listing (without permission, but in order to protect her identity until I decide what I’m going to do about it), shows what colour I thought I’d get. Even allowing for the fact that it’s a badly lit, out of focus shot, it still shows a dark tealy-petrol colour, right?

20120724-091317.jpg

This is what I got. Turquoise is a notoriously difficult shade to capture accurately, but this is pretty close to the actual colour, taken in a light-box that was illuminated by strong natural light.

20120724-091448.jpg

Now, normally, for something of this value, I’d choose to return it, despite the PITA and expense of getting it back to the US. But here’s the kicker – I need this yarn for a project that must be finished by mid-September. This amount of yarn in this weight (bulky) is difficult to get in Perth and none of it is particularly nice, and this colour, while not what I requested, is still pretty. I’m reasonably I can overdye it successfully to make it different from the jumper I JUST finished knitting, but I just wish I didn’t have to. And more than anything, I don’t know what to say in my feedback to the seller.

I don’t know what to do.

