Tags

, , , , , , , ,


All garment photos in this post courtesy of Frog Delacroix.

A fair while ago, I spent waaaaay too long spinning a lovely yarn. It was my beloved Bluefaced Leicester (or biffle), in top form. Having been dyed by the ingenious AnnaMarie at Corgi Hill Farm, the colours were stunning. Here, these are the original dyed fibre photos – click here, here, and here. I spun one braid onto my Ashford Traddy, and the other two of the singles on my Majacraft Aura, which presented a problem. You see, for all that the Aura is a fabulous wheel and a beautiful limousine to use, the bobbins, at upwards of 150g empty, are stupidly heavy. These singles were quite fine, and as the bobbins emptied further and further during plying (meaning that they had to rotate faster in order to supply me with singles at the same rate), the singles on those two bobbins broke. Over. And. Over. Again.

Finally, after much swearing, frustration and not a few tears, I got the skeins plied. There were five of them, giving about 1200m of a lovely 3-ply yarn. It came out at about a 3-ply weight, too. Of course, after all that drama in plying it had to be called Anger Management.

I was dying to knit with it! Originally, I planned a skirt (don’t even ask me my logic there. Just don’t ask.), but about ten rows in, I was really unhappy with how it was turning out. So I caved to perceived time pressure and whipped up another Raglanify recipe, this time with a crew neck instead of the V-neck.

Three weeks, people. Three weeks. The crew neck looked exceedingly wide as I moved down the jumper, so while I knitted diligently away at the body and sleeves I plotted the neckline. I would use all the yarn I had in this jumper, dammit! If it meant a tube as long as my arm for the neck, I would use it! As it turned out, I got left with about 12g, due to a longish skinny spot in my yarn throwing out my calculations. But I’m over the moon with the result. I love the stylish drape of the neckline, the roomy fit, the proud sheen of the blue biffle, the adorable edge detailing (also handspun, FYI).

Another handspun jumper for the Iceland collection! This one is named for one of the glaciers in Iceland, Þórisjökull (pron. thor-ees-yo-kul), meaning Thori’s glacier. Apparently, a troll named Thori is reputed to live not far from this particular glacier. I loved the warmish, denimy, almost dirty blues in the yarn, and the way they banded during the knitting reminded me strongly of the stripes in glacial ice.

