Tags

, , , , , , , ,


I’m back! Yeah, we’re still trying to get to our last few posts on Lie Back And Think Of Iceland, but in the meantime I’m on holidays and I’m BUSY!

I’ve set myself a resolution to spin down the obscene number of spinning WIPs I have lying around the place. Until further notice, I’m not allowed to start any new spinning projects until I finish two old ones. I’m not doing too badly, either, although I have had to give myself two dispensations.

The first is a Halloween spin-along by the ever-lovely BohoKnitterChic (here’s her charming blog, also), but this post isn’t about that. It’s about the second dispensation.

That one is because I promised a friend I’d spin and knit a little cardigan for her baby, who’s due around now (look, I’m not a baby person, ok? I’m not keeping track like most people would be). Since the little tyke might still get some wear out of a cardi before the weather gets really hot as our summer bears down upon us, I wanted to get this project underway and finished as soon as possible.

I ordered a braid of BFL/silk from Corgi Hill Farm (have you guessed by now? I’m something of a CHF fangirl…) in the oh-so-sweet colourway “Watercolor”. Here’s her photo, from the listing:

20121009-203225.jpg
I broke the braid into three sections, and then spun a fractal 3-ply. The singles were spun on my Ashford Traddy, mostly because the bobbins are so much better to ply from than the mahoosive heavy Majacraft Aura ones, but also because I like the higher ratio for vanilla spinning like this.

20121009-203902.jpg
I plied on my Aura, because I love being able to crank the take up waaaaaay down so I end up with as lofty a yarn as possible. Frog took some cool photos of the bobbin while I was plying.

20121009-204123.jpg
The last bobbin, annoyingly, had a lot more metreage knit than the first two, but I still got a 133g skein out of it. It seems to be in the 4-ply/fingering weight range, edging toward 3-ply/light fingering weight. I’m hoping it gives me a really pretty Baby Surprise Jacket.

20121009-204331.jpg

