Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


Sounds like a great novel title, doesn’t it?

You might recall I said I was giving myself permission to spin two yarns outside my resolution to spin down the WIPs, right? The first was the pretty one for the baby, now half knit up into the adorable BSJ. The second is a Hallowe’en themed spin-along, run by the eternally sweet Brittany of BohoKnitterChic fame. I love Brittany’s SALs, and try not to miss out on them. She’s offering a prize draw for yarns spun before the end of October, so I gotta get mine spun!

This is the bundle of deliciousness that I got. There’s a batt of merino/silk/angelina, and some dyed locks of two types of wool (not sure what they are) some silk sari waste in deep purple-black, and those rockstar long wool locks. I am a SUCKER for longwools, particularly in locks, and these are just drool-worthy.

20121013-145246.jpg

20121013-145304.jpg

20121013-145319.jpg
As soon as I pulled it all out of the post bag, I knew I had to do another yarn like this one, as it was so fun and remains one of my absolute favourite results in my whole spinning career. I don’t know that I’ll be able to include the fluffy locks, but I’ll find a use for them, never fear.

20121013-150251.jpg
I always spin my own core nowadays, as I was really unsatisfied with how my yarns were turning out using commercial yarn as a core. So now I core spin while simul-plying, and for the core this time I lashed out and donated a batt I’ve had for about eighteen months, a lovely hand-dyed confection of lofty hand-carded targhee, with a touch of bamboo. I split that batt into three portions – two roughly equal, and one much smaller (for the plying thread).

20121013-145930.jpg

20121013-145958.jpg
Core-and tailspinning is going well. I hope it fits on one bobbin…

