Tags

, , , , ,


20130212-190340.jpg

This is a typical morning’s harvest from our modest little vegetable garden, a week or so ago. The harvest has tailed off now, as the plants tire out and the savage heat of February in Perth tightens its grip. But we honestly have got so much out of this garden – tomatoes, pumpkins, eggplants, cucumbers, beans and herbs fresh whenever we want them. There’s also kale and various obscure salad greens to liven up the usual fare of lettuce, so all in all we do really well out of it.

I hope to keep at least some productivity going throughout the year so I’ve planted seeds of more kale, some roquette, and endive – all flavoursome, versatile leafy greens. To help maintain the garden and work towards a more closed, self-sustaining garden system, I’ve been exploring composting options.

The cubic metre of garden offcuts, layered and interspersed with garden soil and piled up inside a wire cage Did Not Work. This method is no doubt ideal for places where the air maintains a steady humidity level of at least thirty percent…but here in dry old Perth it simply won’t cut the mustard. So I convinced my girlfriend that it’d be great to shell out the funds and set ourselves up with a compost tumbler, a proper one. Finally, the finances aligned and we brought it home last week, in its impressive box.

20130212-191156.jpg
Frog is good at these things, being something of an Ikea aficionado, so I happily let her take charge and tell me what to do.

20130212-191308.jpg

20130212-191331.jpg

<a
It wasn't all smooth sailing, but before dark had set in, we had a working compost tumbler. Living, as we do, in a ghetto, we applied a bike lock to hopefully keep it from wandering off. 20130212-191523.jpg
And then I was allowed the honour of depositing the inaugural banana skin! (The next day, I pruned six barrowloads of geranium, gardenia and hibiscus and mulched it all, completely filling the tumbler, but that banana skin was still significant.)

20130212-192341.jpg
I even quite like the way it looks. I just wish it was waaaaay bigger…or that we had more of them!

20130212-191948.jpg

