Tags

, , , , , , , ,


3X0A7399
A few weeks before the annual knitting retreat at the start of June, I realised that I didn’t have any knitting to show off. This was a problem. In a gathering of twenty-odd knitters, one feels the need to reinforce one’s knitting cred, you know? Something had to be done. Something had to be knitted.

Seeing as how I self-identify as a Knitter of Jumpers (as opposed to one of Scarves, or Socks), it really had to be a garment of some description. Off I went to dig through the stash, through my considerable number of sweater-lots of yarn. I swatched the off-white 12-ply crepe, a 50-50 blend of merino and acrylic. It was hard, crispy and the fabric wasn’t full and plush, even at a tight gauge.

I wanted a big jumper, I knew, so that ruled out the rainbow Noro Sock for which I have a grand stupid plan, as well as the lovely Icelandic laceweight hand-dyed by the lovely Gúdrún with natural dyes. The deadline ruled out colourwork, so there went the rest of the Lopi. The greige Inca Light wasn’t grabbing my attention. In fact, my attention kept going back to the five giant balls of Bendigo Woollen Mills Rustic, in the absolutely stunning Damson colourway.
3X0A7541
I had bought this yarn to make a Vivian, but the intricate cabling was going to be a problem. The lovely fitted hoodie idea was riffing wonderfully in my head, though, so I went through the patterns I had favourited on Ravelry, and kept going back again and again to the simple, workaday solidity of the Hudson hoodie.

The problem? The pattern is in a Noro pattern pamphlet, and it’s years old. What chance did I have of getting the thing, preferably legally, in the timeframe I had? Not much, but hey, where was the harm in trying? I put the call out to the Perth Ravelry group, and within 24 hours I had a message – a lady who lives but a couple of suburbs from me had the pamphlet!

3X0A7396

The rest is history. It was a quick knit, after a false start on the smaller size (I always seem to fall between sizes). I modified the pattern to eliminate seams on the sleeves and from the armpits down, because the yarn is so big I wanted to minimise the bulk of seams. The hardest part was sewing in the zipper (not an experience I’m keen to repeat, though I adore my zip-up hoodie more than you can imagine).

3X0A7378

Do I need to say it? I love this hoodie.

