Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Just because there was a LOOOONNNNG time there where I wasn’t writing to this blog, doesn’t mean I wasn’t doing anything else. In fact, it was the opposite. I used to have quite a problem with internet time; i.e. I spent a lot of time reading about doing the things I liked doing, rather than doing them. That’s changed, organically and of its own accord, but now the problem is that I find it something of an unsavoury task to sit down on the internet long enough to compose, format and publish blog posts. But since I do get a kick out of the experience as a whole, and it’s a good record of my thoughts, process, journey and achievements over time, I consider it important enough to prioritise it.

One of the many things I made while I was offline was this lovely skein of yarn, a bulky 2-ply art yarn I’ve called “Beady Apple”. I wanted to try spinning beads into the yarn as I made the plies.

Beady Apple 2-ply art yarn

Beady Apple 2-ply art yarn

The fibre came to me as this lovely batt – and unfortunately I can’t remember where I got it or what the fibre content is (but there’s no mohair in there). The beads are silver-coloured metal and polished shell, both foraged from op-shop finds.

Pretty batt. I have a thing for pink and green.

Pretty batt. I have a thing for pink and green.

I divided the batt into two equal portions, which I then pre-drafted through a diz. I’m a fan of the diz. It’s a surprisingly effective and useful tool for prepping fibre and helps me to get a lovely airy, even yarn from a carded prep.

Then I took a few bits of one of the fibre bundles only, and painstakingly threaded the beads onto them, thus…

Dizzed rovings and threaded beads

Dizzed rovings and threaded beads

Then it was a simple matter of spinning one ply as normal, and the other with the beads inserted at (hopefully) even-ish spaces. The two singles were then plied, and while I can’t remember my wheel or approach, the yarn tells me it was on my Majacraft Aura, with a relatively high ratio and low uptake, to get maximal plying twist with minimal squishing of the plies – making for a bouncy, roundly plied yarn with plenty of character and awesome balance.

I have no idea what to do with it. I have a few other handspun yarns that would go nicely with it, but what to do, what to do…What do you suggest? Leave me a comment!

