Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,


I posted last week about a skein of yarn I’d spun, and how it had some mates that had sort of organically accreted in the stash as I spun them, and they all gravitated together to make this pretty group of potentially useless things.

*le sigh*

I’m good at making useless things. Pretty, but useless. I know that “art” doesn’t have to be useful but I come from pragmatic stock and deep down, I want my art to be useful, to be worn in and loved and washed and mended and patched and finally, worn out and maybe upcycled.

But what to make with this gorgeous collection?

Beady Apple 2-ply art yarn

Beady Apple 2-ply art yarn

"Dried Butterflies" - thread plied art yarn with hand-sewn upcycled fabric "butterflies"

“Dried Butterflies” – thread plied art yarn with hand-sewn upcycled fabric “butterflies”

"Seeds of Change" - 2-ply traditional yarn, blue-faced leicester/silk blend

“Seeds of Change” – 2-ply traditional yarn, blue-faced leicester/silk blend

"Hard Sherbert" - double-coilspun art yarn

“Hard Sherbert” – double-coilspun art yarn

What do you think? Any suggestions? I’m considering spinning a bulk lot of some neutral that ties all the colours together and knitting a huge throw or blanket, but then on the other hand, wouldn’t they make a fabulous statement piece if woven and pieced into a blocky jacket? What do these skeins say to you?

