Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


Once upon a time, I bought myself a belated birthday present.

Photo from Etsy listing by hobbledehoy.

It’s lovely, isn’t it? I kept it for two¬†years, petting it now and then. And then, on my 32nd birthday, I spun it.

My precious…

And then I kept that for a year and a bit, petting it now and then. It was a beautiful skein of yarn, I’m telling you.

And then last year, in late November, I knit it. It was always going to be cabled legwarmers – I knew that from the moment I laid eyes on the listing. Lee Meredith’s (Leethal Knits – I love her work) adorable Twisted Ankles ended up being the lucky pattern, and while I had to augment the handspun with some grey millspun to get a chunkier fabric, I’m in love with the result. They’re simply gorgeous. When’s winter going to get here?

Spunky cables at the front

Spunky cables at the front

Cheeky straps at the back, complete with cute buttons

Cheeky straps at the back, complete with cute buttons

